We offer classes for beginners, for those needing refreshers, for those who have never touched a gun, for those who have been traumatized by some type of personal violence.
Ladies, want a one on one class so you don't feel intimidated? No problem, we have them! Parents, want to teach your kids to respect the gun? We can do that too! Business owners, want a special class for your employees (i.e. realtors, lawyers, pawn shops, etc.), yes, we've got you covered!
Fundamentals Course: For the beginner, the refresher... learn handgun safety and how important it is to you and your family. Learn the fundamentals (or the mechanics, as we shooters like to call them) of shooting. How to grip, how to load, how to hold, how to stand, how to aim, how to pull the trigger and how to handle the recoil/kick.
CLASS COST: $65.00 (ask about group, family, realtor rates).
License to Carry Class (LTC, Formerly known as CHL): Want to carry concealed or openly where you are leagally permitted, any time? You need your LTC! The state of Texas permits a person, 21 years of age or older, who can legally own a handgun, to carry either concealed or open. To abide by Texas laws you must obtain an LTC license so that you can have your handgun on you anywhere and everywhere legally able. The state of Texas mandates that you must attend a DPS approved LTC class consisting of not less than 4 hours and not more than 6 hours. Class room time will be spent learning the laws and regulations regarding carrying concealed and open, use of force, non-violent conflict resolution, firearm storage and accessability (including consequences for making a readily dischargeable firearm accessable to a child) and handgun safety.
CLASS COST: $85.00 (ask about group, family, realtor rates).
You will be required to take a written test and a shooting proficiency test (NOTE: If you have little to no prior shooting experience you must complete the Fundamentals course before taking the LTC course). You must make at least 70% or higher on both to pass the class.
You must complete the DPS application process (before or after you take the class) to be able to obtain your license. Successful passing of both portions of the class will complete the application process.
The application fee is $145.00. Finger prints are $10.00 + tax.
You will need one box of 50 rounds of ammunition (.32 caliber or larger, no aluminum or steel cased ammo, no hand loaded ammo).
You will be responsible for any range fees or gun rental fees.
Click HERE to go to the DPS website to start the application.
Living Safe In A Crazy World - LADIES ONLY!!! How can you stay safe in this crazy world we live in today? What are some techniques for staying aware of your surroundings when at the grocery store, the mall, the gas station and even at home? How do I know if this is the right tool for me to protect myself and my family? We will discuss these topics and give you some answers that will help you make sound decisions. Snacks will be provided. This is a popular class so please reserve a spot early!!! Check the calendar for dates. If there are no dates posted please call to request the next available date. (Note: These classes will usaully be held on the last Thursday of each month).
NOTE: You will be responsible for any and all range fees and ammunition.
Handgun Maintenance: Learn how to properly clean and maintain your handgun. You will learn how to disassemble and reassemble your handgun, how to clean and what type of products are recommended. A basic handgun cleaning kit will be included in the cost of this class. Cost: $65.00
AR/AK Platform Rifle Maintenance: Learn how to properly clean and maintain your AR/AK style rifle. You will learn how to disassemble and reassemble your rifle, how to clean and what type of products are recommended. A basic rifle cleaning kit will be included in the cost of this class. Cost: $75.00
Fundamentals II - A combination of Fundamentals I with advanced shooting skills built in. Cost: $65.00
Skills Building - Want to learn to shoot under pressure? Learn to shoot at different targets and how to clear a jam! It could save your life! Cost: $65.00
Basic Shotgun Skills - Want to learn to use a shotgun for personal protection/home defense? We will teach you the basics of handling, loading, unloading, holding, standing and shooting a shotgun. Cost: $65.00
Basic Rifle Skills - Want to learn to use a rifle for personal protection/home defense? We will teach you the basics of handling, loading, unloading, holding, standing and shooting a rifle. Cost: $65.00
NOTE: You will be responsible for any and all range fees, target costs, ammunition and gun rentals.
Focus Firearms Training, LLC
Like us on Facebook and get 10% off your next class.